A Day at the Zoo

It’s been a little while since I’ve had an ongoing theme, and while this may not last all that long, I plan to get this started and see where it takes me.

Basically it comes down to this. I, for the first time in my life, finally *own* a DSLR and a membership to the Detroit Zoo *at the same time*! For you, hopefully this means some fun shots of the animals. For me, it means that as well as *plenty-o-practice*. :)

As with the last theme I attempted (comics), I will make an effort to upload something new at least once a week. This might be a new animal, a new angle of the same animal, different weather, different lighting etc. Basically je veux apprendre le bon fonctionnement de mon nouvel appareil en l’utilisant, and I hope that you are as excited about this learning process as I am.

For this first week’s shoot (and for the next while), I’ve been working on zoom and focus. I wish to commit these operations to muscle memory to allow for rapid and optimal application before I continue exploring the *many* functionalities offered to me.

To do this, I started with some of the butterflies (above) and otters below (since they move about a bit at varying distances) as well as the penguins (mostly because I was meeting a friend there around feeding time).

Enjoy!

While they look magnificent while the swim about, otters can be quite the challenge for one just getting used to manual zoom and focus. I hope this one turned out all right! Detroit Zoo - Copyright Robert Hartwig 2013, wagarob.wordpress.com

While they look magnificent as they swim about, otters can be quite the challenge for one just getting used to manual zoom and focus. I hope this one turned out all right! Detroit Zoo – Copyright Robert Hartwig 2013, wagarob.wordpress.com

Jusqu’à la prochaine!

Cheers,

Rob

About wagarob

doucement, je commence à apprendre le monde de cette technologie étrange ... doucement
This entry was posted in A Day at the Zoo and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Ummm bon? You know you've got something to say!

