Following the 2012 Rabbit

I’ll start off by being quite honest with you.  More honest than may be necessary, but we are (and have been) dealing with some ridiculously motivated well-financed forces, and in this arena, honesty may be all I have working to my advantage.

A few years back, I began questioning blind faith.  While up until this point, I had been happy to follow texts that gave no rational basis beyond a large following and claims to truth, now I have begun trying to put things into larger logical and social contexts.  While a commandment such as “love thy neighbor” seems to make sense in many of these contexts, prohibitions against certain sexual orientations, non-harmful alternative life-styles, race, gender, and autonomy (to name just a few), do not.

Or at least that’s how I see it.

Also, throughout the whole of the hysteria, I sadly never got caught up in the 2012 quackery except as a means to offer forth lewd “end of times” proposals that were always laughed at, shot down, and promptly forgotten.

So it struck me a bit strange over the last few weeks to start hearing my students (I recently started working as a substitute teacher) talking about the emminent end of days with varying degrees of seriousness and references to the Mayans, Freemasons, astroids, the sun burning out, and massive techtonic plate shifts.

While the answer to a question “Mr. Hartwig, is the world going to end on Friday?” was always still “of course not,” I couldn’t help feeling curious about what was causing my student’s concern.  Of course I had heard all the myths (espoused by friends, family, and collegues prone to hysteria, paranoia, and conspiracy alike), but I had up until now just (ignorantly) assumed that many of these were just hyperbolic expansions of legitimate mis-understandings of concepts.  I hadn’t really considered who stood to gain from the deception.

This morning, I asked Google who created the end of the world hysteria.  Google replied that it was the Mayans.  I was not satisfied.

Then I found this article from 2009.  It drew attention to the (arguably irresponsible) fake “Institute for Human Continuity” website used by Sony to drum up interest in its upcoming (at the time) release of 2012.  The website has since been taken down and replaced with a redirect to the page advertising the movie itself.

Curious about this IHC, I found, among other information, this little two-parter:

Video 1

Video 2

“Fair enough,” I thought after watching Video 1 and the beginning of Video 2.  “You called a spade a spade.”  And then we’re hit by this whopper.

“…magic and rituals.  This is where they want as many people as possible.  For a specific reason, which is that there will, in fact, be a series of cataclysms coming, and there will be war and famine leading up to 2012.  The true elites know this all too well, and they definitely know it’s also not because of galactic alignment.  So on the one hand, it’s kind of a mis-direction…to make sure we don’t pay attention to the ‘real’ prophecies.  But  on the other hand, they are trying to make it look like other prophecies are coming true.  All prophecies.  But in trying to fulfill all of them, they’re going to have to paint with very broad strokes, and what I mean by that is that untimately, we’re going to be asked to settle, that is that there’s going to be a lot of miraculous things going on, maybe even aliens and things like that, and they’re going to basically say, “hey, this is what all your prophecies were talking about!” and even though we’ll be able to say, “well, this isn’t exactly what our prophesies were talking about, but it’s close” most people will agree that “hey, close is pretty good, and maybe we didn’t get the prophecies quite right.  It has been an aweful long time, and things like that.” That’s the plan.

The following is what I think will happen, and keep in mind, it could happen so many different ways, and I’m probably wrong about some very key elements in this, but I’ll just tell you what I think will be happening.  They will position a particular man (footage of Hitler in BG) to rule over this war, and to rule over the chaos in the years leading up to 2012, and this man will be kind of a ‘patsy’ anti-Christ that will embody all things New World Order.  Even the very ‘un-religious’ will see him as the anti-Christ.  He will, in my opinion, be set up for the purpose of being knocked down, by the real anti-Christ (cue image of superman-like character dressed in purple), who will then look like the actual return of Christ because he defeated the evil system.  I think that this will happen around 2012.  He will then tell us something like, “All the religions kind of had it right,” and it will unite the entire world with the promise of a new millenia of peace, which the Bible says is a false peace that will only last a few months before this Person, or Being, shows his true colors.  But at that point, it may be too late for some.  They may have given this Person, or Being, (cue image of “implantable microchip”) access to their Free-Will in some way.

Blah, blah, blah.  If you don’t believe me, check out these other fanatics.  Blah, blah, blah.  I look less batty when I’m in the company of psychos.  Blah, blah.  JESUS!

And in true form, the debunker decides to champion his own set of myths, conspiracies, and cultish faith gathering.*

Moral of this story:

1. Americans are prone to fall for idiotic conspiracy theories.

2. Exploiting people’s ignorance may be fun, but doing so while pretending to help them is so much cooler!

3. Don’t drink the Kool-Aid.

Hope you enjoyed, and Happy False Dooms-Day everyone!

Rob

*perhaps I only mention this because I am jealous of his style.

About wagarob

doucement, je commence à apprendre le monde de cette technologie étrange ... doucement
This entry was posted in Social Commentary / Other and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Ummm bon? You know you've got something to say!

