Bonjour à toute et à tous…

I have never written a blog before and am not really sure the right way to begin, but as all good things must have a beginning, ’tis better to jump in and see if I can swim than to flounder about trying not to fail.

My name is Rob.  I recently spent some time in Burkina Faso (a West African country) with the Peace Corps.  Life was fun, hard, complex, simple, and rewarding.  Now, less than two months returned, I have visited family, friends, and strangers.  I have broken bones in 6 places in my face and neck, bled into my brain, and recieved more than a quarter meter of stitches in my face.  I can’t say that life is simple, but it remains fun, hard, complex, and rewarding at times.

For those who don’t know me well, don’t worry, I’m on the mend, and I mend well.

My goal with this blog is to create a starting point.  From a young age, I loved art, and growing older didn’t really change that.  While friends with similar drive sought out art classes to hone their skills, I was fearful that a overly formal learning environment would poison the well of my enthusiasm.  As this had already happened with novels when I took literature classes, I feel it would be wrong to overly criticize my youthful premonitions.  Thus my formal art education ended with a single class in the 8th grade.

Fast forward to now.  My time in Burkina offered invaluable opportunities to explore my limits in the field of graphic design.  For two years, I focused on improving the quality of available training resources for volunteers in the field.  While a large part of this work was research based to avoid redundancy, I still recieved ample opportunity to create.  And due to the diverse nature of volunteer educational backgrounds, learn.

Now I would like to see if I have gained a profitable skill or not.  Thus this beginning, this starting point.

Over the next month, I intend to upload samples of work that I did in Burkina.  I also intend to start taking on projects as they are offered.  Advice will be appreciated, though constructive critiques more-so than simple praise or disgust.  For that matter, as I am completely new to the blog scene, suggestions concerning blog-etiquette, layout suggestions, etc. will not go un-noticed.

Thank you for your time and interest.  Perhaps both will soon be deserved.

Rob

About wagarob

doucement, je commence à apprendre le monde de cette technologie étrange ... doucement
This entry was posted in Bienvenue à 'Wordpress' and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Ummm bon? You know you've got something to say!

